What to Eat Now: Tomatoes!

In case you hadn’t noticed, tomatoes are currently in season. Between our garden and our CSA from Waratah Downs Organic Farm, I have an ongoing rotation of various types of tomatoes on my counter.  (By the way, always store tomatoes at room temperature, never in the fridge!) I’ve gathered mine together here for a nice family photo.Image

One of my favorite things about tomatoes (other than the taste, of course) is that they are so versatile.  I usually don’t get too fancy with tomatoes when they’re in season, but I do add them to everything.  Tomato and basil salad, a tomato and pesto tart, diced and stirred into an omelet or guacamole.  Or just sliced with salt and pepper alongside your lunch or dinner.  One of my most recent creations is the recipe below.  I’ve made it as a side “salad” with baked chicken, and also used it as a flatbread topping.

  • 1 1/2 cups of tomatoes (approximately 2 large tomatoes roughly chopped or 1 1/2 cups grape or cherry tomatoes, halved)
  • 2 medium sweet peppers, roughly chopped
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • A couple of sprigs of fresh basil
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Goat cheese
  • (Optional) Mozzarella cheese
  • (Optional) 2 small pitas, flatbreads, or naan bread
  • (Optional) Balsamic vinegar

Directions:

1. Heat oil in a frying pan on medium heat.  Add chopped peppers and garlic, cook until just tender, about 7 minutes.

2. Add tomatoes and green onions, cook for another 2 minutes.  Remove from heat and add basil, stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

3. If making warm “salad”, spoon onto 2 plates and crumble goat cheese on top.  Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and, if needed, more olive oil.

4. If making pizza,  turn broiler on high.  Spread goat cheese on pita/flatbread (in the picture below I used garlic naan bread).  Top with veggie mixture.  As much as I like pizza with creative and unusual toppings, I always add some mozzarella in there somewhere to hold it all together, so add a sprinkle of mozzarella on top (truth: I only realized I was out of mozzarella once I started making this, so I used marble cheese instead!).  Broil in oven for 2 minutes or until cheese is melted.  Serves 2.

Image

2 thoughts on “What to Eat Now: Tomatoes!

  1. Pingback: Peperonata Eggs « Locavore Girl in the City

  2. Pingback: Cabbage Roll Stew « Locavore Girl in the City

Join the conversation!

