Quinoa and Chard Patties with Cilantro Yogurt Sauce

Tonight was one of those nights where I felt I had nothing to make for dinner.  I rummaged through my fridge and pantry, pulled out a couple of ingredients that caught my interest, and threw them into Google to see what I could find.  This was the result and they were really tasty, and incredibly healthy too!  If you don’t have chard on hand, any sort of cooking greens would work well here such as kale or spinach.

Cilantro Garlic Yogurt Sauce

3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
2 tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice (TIP: When buying lemons look for ones that are heavy for their size – this means they’re juicier. I usually grab 4 or 5 before I find one that feels heavy compared to the others.)
1 clove garlic, minced
1/8 tsp cayenne (more if you like it spicy)
freshly ground salt

1.  Stir together all ingredients, then chill, covered, at least 30 minutes (for flavors to meld or whatever it is flavours do).

Quinoa and Chard Patties

1/2 cup quinoa
1 cup water
2 eggs, whisked
1 tbsp Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, finely shredded
1/3 cup fresh chives, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
2 cups roughly torn chard leaves (I used 3 large leaves)
olive oil
freshly ground salt and pepper

1. Rinse quinoa – I use a glass measuring cup and swirl the grains around with my hand, then pour off the water.  Heat 1 cup water in a small pot to boil.  Add quinoa, cover and reduce heat to simmer for 12 minutes. Remove from heat and let stand with lid on for another 15 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, steam chard until just tender, about 2-3 minutes.  Remove from heat and chop.

3. In a large bowl, mix quinoa, eggs, cheeses, chives, garlic, chard, salt and pepper. Let everything sit for a few minutes to meld.

4. Heat oil in a large pan over medium heat. Scoop out batter and form patties in frying pan with a spatula. I fit 3 patties in my pan at a time.  Cook 8-10 minutes per side, until they start to brown.  Remove from pan and let cool on paper towel while you cook the next batch.

Makes about 6 patties (serves 2-3).

Recipes adapted from here and here, modified to suit my taste and what I had on hand.

Join the conversation!

