Two-Days-To-Christmas-And-I-Don’t-Have-Time-To-Cook Vegetarian Chili

Quick Vegetarian ChiliNo matter how prepared I feel for the holidays, they always sneak up on me and suddenly they’re two days away I don’t seem to have enough time to get everything done. This year we’re having Christmas dinner at our house for the first time ever (yikes!) so there is even more to do. After a weekend spent doing nothing but errands, cleaning and prepping the house, this quick chili recipe is the perfect Sunday night solution.

It only needs to simmer for 20 minutes to become delicious, but more time won’t hurt and will only enhance the flavours. Since discovering this recipe we haven’t made a longer cooking chili and this has become our go-to recipe (thank you About.com!)

1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 green pepper, diced
1 can mixed beans, drained and rinsed
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup frozen corn, thawed (mine comes in our CSA from Bryson Farms – the closest you’ll find to fresh corn this time of year and way better than the store bought stuff)
1 can diced tomatoes
2 cups tomatoes (I used the ones I canned earlier this year,  but you can use stewed, diced, whatever you have on hand)
1/4 cup vegetable broth
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp oregano
1 tsp red pepper flakes
fresh ground salt and pepper

1. In a large pot, sautee onion, pepper and garlic in olive oil for about five minutes.

2. Add tomatoes, vegetable broth, beans, corn, chili powder, oregano and red pepper flakes.

3. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium low and simmer at least 20 minutes. The longer the better.

This makes a relatively mild chili. If you like it spicier, add more red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper. Serve topped with cheese, sour cream and micro greens.

Serves 6.

Veggies Sauteeing Chili cooking Quick Vegetarian ChiliOn an unrelated note, I’ve tried in previous years to force my Christmas cacti to bloom at Christmas, with no luck.  This year, I didn’t do a thing and they’re both on their way to blooming.  This one might even make it for Christmas day. I guess nature knows best!  Happy holidays!

Christmas Cactus

2 thoughts on “Two-Days-To-Christmas-And-I-Don’t-Have-Time-To-Cook Vegetarian Chili

    • Hi Tammy! Your comment must have slipped by me in my post-holiday stupor because I just noticed it now. I`ll check out the recipe you mention, because I`m always looking for tweaks and variations to make recipes even better. Happy new year to you as well!

Join the conversation!

