Lambs Quarter Pesto Cream Sauce on Whole Wheat Macaroni

Pasta with pesto cream sauceThis recipe was so simple – literally two ingredients added to the pasta made a delicious and flavourful sauce.  I’m happy my Greek yogurt experiment worked out, which made it so much healthier than a traditional cream sauce!  I bet it will be even better once summer rolls around and I have fresh tomatoes and basil to add.  I used frozen pesto from my freezer that I made last summer, but you can use any type of pesto.  This pesto was made from lambs quarters, garlic scapes, parmesan and olive oil (I have another pesto recipe with lemon basil and lemongrass which is perfect on fish!).  I’ll be sure to post the pesto recipes once the ingredients are in season again.  But until then, freezer pesto is almost as good.

On another note, wondering what’s up with the micro-greens I’ve been topping every recipe with lately?  We get them from our year-round CSA from Bryson Farms.  Go here to read more about them.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups whole wheat macaroni
1/3 cup pesto
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
feta and micro-greens for topping (optional)

Directions

1. Boil pasta according to package directions until al dente.  Drain and return to pot.  Reserve pasta water.

2. Add pesto and Greek yogurt and stir until combined.  Add a small amount of reserved pasta water if needed to thin the sauce to your liking.

Top with feta or other local cheese and micro-greens and serve with a fresh green salad.

Serves 2.

Join the conversation!

