Sunday Baking: Healthy Carrot Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins

Carrot Oatmeal Muffins 2Winter is a great time to get creative with root vegetables, including for breakfast. Here is another muffin recipe that is healthy enough to eat for breakfast, like the Cranberry Almond Chocolate Chip Muffins I posted back in November.  This recipe has no added sugars whatsoever, and is tasty enough with the sweetness from the fruit and carrots, but next time I would add a tablespoon or two of honey just to add a tad of sweetness that I think will bring out the flavours better.  This recipe makes two dozen muffins which will feed two of us for breakfasts for the week with some leftover to throw in the freezer.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups Red Fife flour
1 1/2 cups oats
2 teaspoons baking powder
4 teaspoons cinnamon
6 medium heirloom carrots, grated (My carrots are organic so I don’t peel them, I just scrub them really well)
1 cup sliced almonds
1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1 cup apple sauce
1 cup Greek yogurt
1 banana, mashed
2 teaspoons baking soda
6 eggs, beaten
1/3 cup butter, melted, plus more for greasing muffin tins
2 tbsp vanilla
1-2 tbsp honey

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350.  Grease two muffin tins with butter or line with muffin cups.

2. In a mixing bowl or stand mixer combine flours, oats, baking powder, cinnamon, grated carrots, almonds and coconut.  Mix to combine.

3. In a second bowl mix the yogurt, banana, apple sauce, baking soda, eggs, melted butter, honey and vanilla until well blended.

4. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until combined.

5. Spoon into prepared muffin tins and bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool for a couple of minutes in the tins, then remove to a rack.

Adapted from Food.com

Makes 24 muffins.  To store in freezer, wrap muffins individually with plastic wrap then store in large freezer bags.

Carrot Oatmeal Muffins

10 thoughts on “Sunday Baking: Healthy Carrot Oatmeal Breakfast Muffins

    • Hi Tammy – Red Fife is a Canadian heritage wheat that seems to be making somewhat of a comeback here in Eastern Ontario. It isn’t well known, and my guess is that it would be difficult to find outside of Canada. Your area might have other heritage wheats that would be fun to experiment with though!

  1. These sound really, really satisfying. I tend to replace flours in a recipe like this with all spelt, but the red fife and whole wheat sound good too. I’m definitely going to try this one!

    • I’ve never baked with spelt but I’m curious about it. Where would I find it – I assume Natural Food Pantry or Rainbow Foods might be places to try? And would I need to modify recipes or can I just swap it for the flour?

      • Rainbow Foods always has spelt, and I imagine Natural Food Pantry also will. It is an ancient wheat, in effect, and is apparently easier for many people to digest. It also has fantastic fibre content (makes me feel really good about the baked goods I give to my kids). I find that in muffins and quick loaves I use it 100% in place of other flours, but in pancakes or rustic cakes I’d usually make that about 50%. I’d never use it in fine baking. I’ve also just been reading about barley flour, which is also very low in gluten but apparently is extremely good for you, so I’m just about to try that. Spelt behaves like other flours in terms of baking performance, but my understanding of barley flour is that you’re getting more into the gluten free zone and would need to build in extra raising agent.

        • Thanks for the great info! Sounds similar to how I use Red Fife and would make a great alternative/addition. I’ll definitely look for it next time I’m at Rainbow Foods. I’m excited to try it out! Let me know how the barley flour goes too.

          • You are most welcome! I realize that I forgot to add that like Red Fife it’s much less ‘gloppy’ than I find regular whole wheat flour can be. I’ll keep you posted on the barley flour.

          • I just want to tell you that I am newbie to blogs and truly savored this web-site. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You really have really good article content. Apercpiate it for sharing with us your website page.

Join the conversation!

