Spinach Quiche with Potato Crust…in a Snowstorm

SAMSUNGDon’t hate me because I love snow!  Even this late in winter, knowing that this might be our last big snowstorm, I still love it.  Don’t get me wrong, I love warm weather too – summer is my favourite season.  But there is something comforting and cozy about a snowstorm.  I like how my workplace is quiet (many people drive, I take transit, so it’s no biggie to go in to the office anyway), how the entire city moves slower, quieter.  If you do need to pick up any last minute things for dinner, local shop owners are that much more friendly and happy to see you in a snowstorm.  Our eccentric neighbour comes by with his snowplow to do our driveway (I know full well this means I’ll be helping him with his roof this summer, but today it seems worth it).

The snow always inspires me to make something easy and comforting, like this quiche.  This was the first time I made the potato crust, and I really liked the way it turned out and will definitely be making it again.  I would like to experiment with ways to make it crispier on the bottom… if anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them!

Ingredients:

2 firmly-packed cups grated raw red potatoes
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 eggs
1/4 cup onion, finely chopped
olive oil
3 cups raw spinach, roughly torn
1/3 of a red pepper, finely chopped
1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese, grated
4 strips cooked bacon, chopped
1/4 cup milk
freshly ground salt and pepper

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 400.  Oil a pie pan.  Place potatoes in a strainer, add salt and stir.  Let sit for 10 minutes over the sink, periodically pressing with a fork to squeeze out the water.

2.  In a medium bowl, combine potatoes, 1 egg, and onion.  Pat the mixture into prepared pie pan, pressing the bottom and sides down with a fork.

3.  Place in oven and bake 20 minutes. Remove from oven, brush with oil, and place back in oven for an additional 20 minutes or until the edges are starting to brown.  Remove from oven and turn down to 375.

4.  Meanwhile, in a large bowl combine remaining 5 eggs, milk, spinach, red pepper, cheese and freshly ground salt and pepper.  Stir to combine.

5.  Pour egg and vegetable mixture into cooked crust.  Top with crumbled bacon.  Place in oven for 25-30 minutes, until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  Let sit for 2-3 minutes before serving.

Potato crust recipe from What’s Cooking America.

Cooked potato crustFinished quicheSlice of quiche

11 thoughts on “Spinach Quiche with Potato Crust…in a Snowstorm

  1. Oh YUM! This looks perfectly delicious! I love that the potatoes make the crust.
    AND… I adore cold weather too – wish we’d get snow tho – we have to go 20 minutes to the mountain… but at least we get the beautifully chilly air =0)

Join the conversation!

