Maple Walnut Pie

Finished Maple pieIt’s maple syrup season!  Maple syrup has been called the first agricultural crop of the year in maple producing areas.  It heralds the start of spring, and this felt particularly fitting today as we changed the clocks ahead and we gain an hour of daylight in the evening.  It was also fitting for the great weekend full of sun and warm weather we experienced.  What better way to celebrate than maple and walnut pie?  There may still be a few snowfalls and a week and a half on the calendar until the official start of spring, but in my mind it began this weekend.

Now, if I only knew if I could tap the maple trees in my backyard for syrup I would be incredibly happy!

Ingredients:

1 unbaked pie crust (I used the same Red Fife crust recipe as I did here)
3 eggs
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup evaporated milk (I used regular 1% and it turned out fine!)
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
Pinch of salt

Directions:

1.     Preheat oven to 350.  Combine eggs, brown sugar, oats, walnuts, milk, maple syrup, butter, vanilla, and salt in a medium bowl. Whisk together until well blended. Pour filling into pie shell.

2.     Bake in oven until set, 35 to 40 minutes. Let cool, then chill before serving.

Recipe from Egg Farmers of Ontario.

Red Fife pie crust Pie filling Pie ready for the oven
The heart in the center of the pie was originally intended to be a maple leaf, however I was not artistic enough to make one without cookie cutter. Hearts are much easier!

Finished Maple pie Slice of maple pie

5 thoughts on “Maple Walnut Pie

    • Ah, yes…. last Fall while I was in Vermont I like to think that maple syrup saved my life. We got a little lost after wandering off a hiking trail, and followed maple syrup lines to find our way back! I hope you enjoy the pie!

  1. While, I certainly do not envy the cold up north I do envy the concept of local maple syrup! I love maple syrup and I feel like it would be even more amazing if it was fresh and local! Your pie looks delicious! Thanks for sharing!

    • If I could trade some of the cold temperatures and keep the maple syrup I would certainly do it, but nature seems to have a thing for balance 😉 I think maple syrup is our reward for making it through the winter!

Join the conversation!

