Red Fife Maple Walnut Pancakes with Sliced Strawberries

Red Fife Maple Walnut Pancakes with StrawberriesWe’ve been hit by a snow/ice storm today, and I am lucky to have the option to work from home.  I take transit, so commuting to work wasn’t so much of a concern, but I did already put away my winter parka and boots, and I’m stubborn and don’t want to get them out again on principle.  Silly, I know!  I treated myself this gloomy morning to these delicious and healthy pancakes.  I’m generally not a fan of pancakes (I know, that’s sacrilegious to some) but I really liked these.  The Red Fife, flax and walnuts added lots of flavour and texture.  And I’ve had a thing for strawberries lately, my impatience for spring produce is growing! 

Our chives are starting to come up, I hope this weather won’t destroy them or the tulips.

Snowy chives and tulips1/2 cup Red Fife flour
1/4 cup ground flax seed
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup Greek yogurt
1/2 cup milk
1/8 cup pure maple syrup
1/4 tsp vanilla
1 egg
oil
frozen strawberries, thawed and sliced (I warmed them in the toaster oven while I cooked the pancakes)

1. Mix flour, flax, walnuts, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a medium bowl to blend. Make a well in the middle and add yogurt, milk, maple syrup, vanilla and egg. Whisk until combined.

2. Add small amount of oil to pan and heat over medium heat. Add 1/4 cupfuls at a time, cooking until bubbles appear on surface of pancakes and undersides are golden brown, about 2 minutes. Turn over and cook until golden on bottom, about 2 minutes. Serve with sliced strawberries and additional maple syrup.

Adapted from Epicurious.  Makes 6 pancakes.

Pancake ingredients Pancake batter Pancake cooking Finished pancakes Red Fife Maple Walnut Pancakes with Strawberries

3 thoughts on “Red Fife Maple Walnut Pancakes with Sliced Strawberries

  1. Strawberries! I just bought another 2# last night and can’t wait to use them on something new… maybe I’ll give these a try this weekend! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Join the conversation!

