Healthy(er) Eggs Benedict with Sauteed Kale

Healthier Eggs BenedictWhen I go out for breakfast Eggs Benedict is one my favourite things to order.  I rarely make it at home, because I cannot fathom making something so fat-laden as Hollandaise sauce.  It’s delicious when someone else cooks and I don’t see what’s in it, but making it myself somehow dampens my enjoyment by knowing how much butter is used!  I found this recipe which uses fat free Greek yogurt instead.  It doesn’t have quite the same taste as traditional Hollandaise, but it’s really good and it gives the eggs that same decadent feel.  I served them with sauteed kale; we get kale almost all year long from our CSA because they grow it a greenhouse and it adds an extra health kick!

4 eggs and 3 additional eggs yolks
1 cup Greek yogurt
2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
freshly ground pepper
pinch of paprika
small baguette cut in half, then cut lengthwise (I used 12-grain and fennel from Art-Is-In Bakery – so good!)
2 slices local ham
2 slices Havarti cheese
1/2 bunch of kale, torn into bite size pieces

1.  In a small heavy-bottomed sauce pan, whisk yogurt, lemon juice, 3 egg yolks, mustard, salt, pepper and paprika.

2.  Heat over medium-low heat, whisking almost constantly, until sauce has thickened, approximately 15 minutes (sauce will become thinner at first and then thicken again).  Mine becomes quite frothy and fluffy, I don’t know if I’m doing something wrong, but the texture is great on eggs!

3.  Meanwhile, saute kale until bright green, about 10 minutes.  Cook eggs to your liking – of course, traditional Eggs Benedict is made with poached eggs, but I usually fry mine.

4. To assemble, top each slice of bread with half a slice of ham, half a slice of Havarti, an egg and top with sauce.  Serve with kale.

Serves two.  Recipe from The Science of Eating.

4 thoughts on “Healthy(er) Eggs Benedict with Sauteed Kale

Join the conversation!

