Redneck Beer Can Chicken With Peruvian Purple Potatoes

Beer can chickenLast Friday was intended to be a BBQ night, as earlier in the week the weather called for a beautiful day, the warmest one of the year so far.  We had big plans to sit on our back deck, have a couple drinks, and fire up a delicious beer can chicken on the BBQ (I realized just now how completely redneck that sounds, hence the title of the recipe).  What we got were clouds, a lingering threat of rain, and temperatures dropping rather quickly towards the end of the day.  Let’s just say neither of us were in the mood to BBQ (Who am I kidding?  I am not the BBQer in the house.)  Instead, we made more or less the same recipe in the oven.

There are no specific times or temperatures to this recipe, what I’ve given is a guideline but the most important thing is to just cook it ’till it’s done.  Any combination of root vegetables can be used, and you can either cook them under the chicken, or separately, whichever your preference.  It is easier to cook the vegetables separate because sometimes they don’t cook at the same timing as the chicken, but then they don’t get to cook in the delicious chicken juice.  Obviously, I am not on a diet.  The prep can be done ahead and this recipe is low on active time and long on cooking time, so it makes a great low-effort / high-impact meal when you have guests over.  Folks are always impressed with the beer can bit, like it’s a fancy party trick, but really it just keeps the chicken moist and tender.  And I’ve found most people love food with beer in it, so you can’t go wrong!

whole chicken
potatoes (Any potatoes will do – I used Peruvian fingerlings from our winter CSA from Bryson Farms – they look amazing and if your guests are impressed by sticking a beer can up a chicken’s butt, these will blow their minds!)
onion
1/2 lemon
olive oil
fresh rosemary
poultry seasoning
sage
savoury
fresh ground salt and pepper
can of beer

1. Stuff a couple of sprigs of fresh rosemary inside the chicken.  Coat the chicken in olive oil.  Sprinkle all over with poultry seasoning, sage, savoury, salt and pepper (it’s easiest to do this as a two man job to avoid cross-contaminating your kitchen – one with his hand up the chicken to rotate it and the other to sprinkle the herbs.  Guess which job I chose!)

2. Open the beer and drink a little bit (this step may or may not be necessary…).  Poor a little bit in the bottom of the pan.  Wiggle the can up inside the chicken until it’s secure and the chicken’s legs are sitting down around it.  Place in the centre of a baking dish or pan.

3. Roughly dice potatoes and onion and toss them in the pan around the chicken.  Quarter the lemon and throw it in.  Tuck some more rosemary in around the vegetables.  Season with salt and pepper.

4. Preheat the oven to 350.  Bake chicken and potatoes until an internal temperature of 85 C (185 F) is reached, 1 to 1 1/2 hours.  Take out occasionally to stir potatoes and ensure the pan isn’t dry.  If the pan starts to look dry, add more beer (or if you drank it all, chicken stock also works!  Not that that ever happens to us.)

NOTE: The chicken and beer drippings left in the bottom of the pan would make an amazing gravy.  We were too lazy and hungry by the time the meal was ready, so I threw the remaining liquid in my freezer with the label “chicken juice” where it will wait until the next time I make soup!

Beer can chicken ready for the oven Beer can chicken Potatoes in chicken flavour Beer can chicken and potatoes

5 thoughts on “Redneck Beer Can Chicken With Peruvian Purple Potatoes

  1. I think we NEED more recipes that say ‘cook until done’.
    I always loved those old recipes that call for a ‘warm’ oven and have to improvise with some European cookbooks that call for Gas Mark 3.

    Innovation and experimentation are key to interesting cooking. However, sometimes it’s best to stick to the recipe.

    I don’t usually cook anything on the BBQ that takes more 5 minutes, but will give this a try a bit later.

    • I’ve seen that as well and scratched my head a little wondering how the gas instructions equated to my own oven.

      I promise this recipe doesn’t take more effort than throwing a stake or burger on the BBQ. You don’t even need to do the vegetables with it, just do the bird! Super easy.

  2. The baked chicken is beautiful! I consider myself pretty up on things, but I have to admit that I had never heard the term locavore. Of course, it’s meaning is self explanatory with the same root as “local”, and I plan to use this term as the concept of eating locally-grown foods has appealed to me since my days of reading “Little House on the Prairie” and other pioneer books about how they ate only those things they could grow or obtain nearby. And I’ve seen city folks who have challenged themselves to eat like a locavore without much look and other urban folks who are just now realizing this is more than a novelty. Thanks for stopping by my blog and following. I hope we will cross paths again very soon! BW

Join the conversation!

