Crispy Baked Fries Take Two: Now With “Regular” Potatoes!

Closeup of crispy baked fries with Greek yogurt and cilantro dipping sauceThe Crispy Baked Sweet Potato Fries recipe I posted last week was so amazing, I made it again last night.  But I didn’t have any sweet potatoes.  I did have “regular” white potatoes.  I would tell you what kind of potatoes I used, but I have no idea.  It didn’t even say on the bag.  Is that weird?  Or am I just so used to buying local and from farmers where everything about the type and origin of the produce is celebrated that I’ve forgotten that “regular” vegetables in the grocery store don’t list this information?

Anyway, it’s not important.  These fries were, dare I say, BETTER than the sweet potato fries.  And I’m a huge fan of sweet potato fries, so that’s saying a lot.  These are definitely going into regular rotation, my head is spinning with herb, spice and dipping sauce combinations to try out.  This time I served them with Greek yogurt mixed with cilantro and a hint of lime juice.  (“Served”? Who am I kidding?  I ate them all myself.)  This could be very, very dangerous.

Ingredients:

3 medium “white” potatoes (again, I left the peel on because I like ’em rustic, and peeling vegetables is for people with more time on their hands than I)
1 1/2 tbsp olive oil plus more for coating the pan
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp cumin
2 tsp corn starch

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 425.  Drizzle a small bit of olive oil on a baking sheet and rub it around so the pan is coated.

2.  Cut the potatoes into fries about 1 cm across.  I made mine somewhere between shoestring and regular fry size and they worked well.

3. In a large bowl mix together remaining olive oil, salt, garlic powder and cumin. Throw in the potatoes and stir them around until coated. Sprinkle corn starch on top and stir again until coated.

4. Arrange potatoes in a single layer on the baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes, turning over half way through.  I found the easiest way to do this was to use a fork to turn them.  It really makes a difference because the parts that touch the bottom get especially crispy.

Serve with Greek yogurt cilantro dipping sauce.

Adapted from Bakerette.

Crispy baked fries with Greek yogurt and cilantro dipping sauce Closeup of crispy baked fries with Greek yogurt and cilantro dipping sauce

10 thoughts on “Crispy Baked Fries Take Two: Now With “Regular” Potatoes!

  1. Pingback: Parsnip Muffins. Because, why not? | Locavore Girl in the City

  2. Pingback: Spreading the Liebster Award Lovin’ | The Local Kitchener

      • I made these last night for dinner (to go with BBQ steaks). They tasted great, though not as crispy as I would like. This is a “trial & error” issue with my not-so-great oven….not the recipe.

        I will make them again, but need to add some time to the baking…They were a real hit with my hubby!

        Thanks for sharing!

  3. Nice!! You’re totally on a roll…. but what’s next, eggplant fries? I’ve had them fried but don’t know if they’d work in the oven….
    And yes, I agree with PoshDish about the greek yogurt being a great idea!

Join the conversation!

