Strawberries Have Arrived in Eastern Ontario! Along with Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Strawberry rhubarb pie with Red Fife crust and lattice top, straight from the ovenFinally! After hearing folks in Southern Ontario and elsewhere mentioning strawberries for a few weeks now, local strawberries arrived at local farmer’s markets this past weekend. In my mind, summer is not really here until local strawberries arrive. The market in Westboro even had tastings of a few different strawberry-filled concoctions – the Strawberry-Balsamic Compote with goat cheese on crostini was my favourite. They all tasted like summer. I recreated it last night, made into a quasi strawberry shortcake with basil and Red Fife scones and honey whipped cream. A post on that coming soon!

But for today’s post, my first strawberry baking of the summer, a strawberry rhubarb pie with a lattice top. This was served for dessert on Father’s Day, which means I actually used frozen strawberries. It was still delicious. It was my first time doing a lattice top, and while it did take a bit more work, I love how rustic it looks.  This pie is ever so slightly on the tart side – I like to taste the berries, not just sugar – and turned out a bit runnier than I would like.  If you prefer your pies thicker, add more cornstarch (the original recipe called for 1/4 cup).

Ingredients

3 cups rhubarb, chopped
3 cups strawberries, sliced
1 cup sugar
2 tbsp cornstarch
2 tbsp Red Fife flour
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
pastry for a double-crust 9-inch pie (I used this Red Fife pie crust – and I find it easier to make two separate batches rather than one double batch)
1 egg, beaten for glaze
sugar for the top

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425.  Make dough, put in fridge to cool (this makes it easier to roll out).

3. In a bowl, stir together rhubarb, strawberries, sugar, cornstarch, flour, lemon juice and cinnamon.

4. On a lightly floured surface, roll out half of the dough and place in a nine-inch pie plate. Pour filling onto crust.

5. Roll out pastry for top crust. Using a knife, cut into 1-inch wide strips. Brush pie rim with some of the beaten egg. Gently weave strips over the pie to form lattice; trim the excess off the edges, then press with a fork to seal. Brush lattice with beaten egg. Sprinkle top with sugar.

6. Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 375 and bake for another 50 minutes or until the crust is golden.

7. Let stand at least 30 minutes before serving to let filling firm up.

Recipe adapted from Canadian Living on Food.com

Chopped strawberries and rhubarbs Strawberries, rhubarb, sugar, cinnamon Strawberry rhubarb pie with filling Red Fife pie dough sliced for lattice How to do the lattice on strawberry rhubarb pie Finished lattice top on strawberry rhubarb pie Strawberry rhubarb pie with Red Fife crust and lattice top, straight from the oven

6 thoughts on “Strawberries Have Arrived in Eastern Ontario! Along with Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

  1. If this isn’t one of THE best times of the year here, I don’t know what is! My youngest and I plan to go strawberry picking next week and to put up some jam, but in the meantime, we’re getting berries from farmstands to tide us over. Next year we’re finally going to plant some of our own…

  2. Hooray for strawberries! Beautiful pie. First I was a bit jealous of other bloggers getting strawberries before me. Now as our season is coming to an end I’m jealous that yours is just beginning with another few weeks of fresh berries. I think I have a problem…

    • Thanks! The grass is always greener on the other side, isn’t? I understand your problem, there are many things that I get sick of about the same time their season is over… strawberries are definitely not one of those things.

  3. Awesome Pie! It looks really legit and I want some (even though normally I’m pretty ambivalent about pie). And nice job with the Red Fife pie crust. I have only found Red Fife here in KW at Bulk Barn but I’d like to be able to get a sweet bag like yours (in the other post)! Where do you usually buy it?

    • Thanks, legit is what I was going for 😉 I wasn’t a big fan of pie until I started baking my own using quality seasonal and local ingredients, now I love it! I think it also helps that I have a better understanding of the work that goes into it, so I appreciate it that much more.

      I usually get my Red Fife from health/natural/organic food stores. The CIPM brand in the cloth bags is the only one I’ve seen. I have been meaning to check out Bulk Barn and compare prices though – do you recall how much it costs there? The bags I buy are around $10 for 2.5 kg.

      I have a bit of a thing for the cloth bags, once I get enough of them I want to make them into something. Haven’t decided what yet.

      • Haha, I know what you mean about the cloth bags being sweet, I had one from some old-timey cornmeal that I’ve been saving for like 2 years to turn into something….

        I can’t remember how much the RF was at Bulk Barn but I think it was comparable, maybe slightly cheaper…?

Join the conversation!

