Parsnip Muffins. Because, why not?

Carrot and parsnip muffins in bowl

We have a lot of carrots and parsnips in our fridge right now. I mean a lot.  We signed up for the fall extension option from our CSA with Roots and Shoots Farm this year, which has been awesome, but as you might expect full of root vegetables.  We don’t seem to have much difficulty making use of the potatoes, onions and garlic – those things always go quickly.  But the carrots have gotten the best of me this year, and also the parsnips, which I find are a bit trickier find to creative ways to use. 

Carrot and parsnip muffins with butter

I had two thoughts to make use of this overload bounty.  One – fries!  I’ve had great luck with baked potato and sweet potato fries, so I think carrot and parsnips fries would work.  But it was a Sunday and I was in the mood for baking as opposed to fries. So I thought, I’ll make carrot muffins.  And then: why not parsnip muffins too?  I decided to make a double batch of muffins and load one batch with carrots and the other with parsnips!  And oh man, were they ever loaded.  When I stirred in the carrots/parsnips I thought I’d gone a little too far, as it looked like the veggies outnumbered the other ingredients.  The double batch allowed me to compare the two types, and I figured I’d also have a fallback in case the parsnip ones where inedible.  I like to eat muffins for breakfast and I don’t like a lot of added sugar first thing in the morning, so these muffins turned out quite savoury, which I liked. However if you have more of a sweet tooth you may want to increase the honey. For me, these were perfectly delicious warmed in the toaster oven with butter and a drizzle of honey.  And guess which ones I liked better?  The parsnip ones!

Carrot and parsnip muffin ingredients

 


Carrot and Parsnip Muffins

2 cups whole wheat flour (I use Red Fife)
1 cup white flour
1/2 cup ground flax seed
3 teaspoons pumpkin-pie spice (I make my own using this recipe)
1 tsp cinnamon
4 teaspoons baking powder
3 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup honey
1/2 cup plain yogurt
3/4 cup apple sauce
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
4 large eggs
1/2 cup cranberries
2 cups grated carrots
2 cups grated parsnips

1. Preheat oven to 375. In a large mixing bowl stir together dry ingredients: flours, flax seed, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, salt.

2. In a separate bowl, mix wet ingredients and whisk together well:  honey, yogurt, apple sauce, butter, coconut oil, eggs.

3. Pour wet into dry and stir until just mixed and no visible floury bits remain.  Stir in grated carrots, parsnips and cranberries.  [To make my comparison muffins, after I mixed the wet and dry together and added cranberries, I split the batter into two bowls.  I then added carrots to one and parsnips to the other.]

4. Pour into two greased muffin tins and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let cool in pans for 5 minutes and then remove onto racks to cool completely.

Makes 24 muffins.


Loosely adapted from I Should be Mopping the Floor: Greek Yogurt and Carrot Muffins

 

Carrot and parsnip muffins in muffin pans

 

Carrot and parsnip muffins in bowl

 

Carrot and parsnip muffins with butter and honey

3 thoughts on “Parsnip Muffins. Because, why not?

    • This is my first time baking with parsnip. You can definitely taste the parsnip more than the carrot, but I wouldn’t say it’s a strong taste. If you’re concerned about it, I would suggest trying part parsnip and part carrot, and maybe adding more honey or sugar would make it blend in a bit more.

Join the conversation!

